Ashtanga is a dynamic yoga style. Characteristic of Ashtanga Yoga is that your breathing is the guideline for a fixed sequence of asanas. 
With the help of the postures and your breathing you learn how your mind and body are connected.
Je leert daardoor je grenzen kennen en deze te respecteren. Je zult ervaren dat het mogelijk is om vanuit respect je werkelijk te ontspannen en vervolgens innerlijk te groeien.

You start with the Primary Series. This cleans your body. By performing the poses, your blood is heated, causing toxins to leave the body through perspiration. Each asana prepares you physically and mentally for the next asana. The Ashtanga series are very intelligently put together.

Ashtanga literally means 'the eightfold path' or 'eight limbs'. This refers to the eight different disciplines of yoga. These eight disciplines described in the Yoga Sutra form the basis of this style. These eight disciplines are:

  1. Yama: live a good life
  2. Niyama: be physically and mentally clean
  3. Asana: physical Yoga exercises
  4. Pranayama: breathing
  5. Pratyahara: control over the senses
  6. Dharana: concentration
  7. Dhyana: meditation
  8. Samadhi: surrender to bliss

With these eight disciplines you do more than just exercises on your mat. You cleanse your body and mind. As a result, this lesson has many physical benefits such as better blood circulation, flexible muscles and awareness. In addition, you develop (with regularity) strength, flexibility and a better condition.

In Sanskrit, the Primary series is also called 'Yoga Shikitsa' which means yoga therapy.

Who is Ashtanga for?

Ashtanga is for everyone! However, this teaching form can often be experienced as challenging in the beginning due to the fact that your body and mind still have time to learn to focus. Discipline is also an important factor here.

en_GBEnglish (UK)